Fun Facts about Chinese Culture and History

  • Facebook Fun withChinese Culture
  • Twitter Fun withChinese Culture
  • G+ Fun withChinese Culture
  • YouTube Fun withChinese Culture
  • Pinterest Fun withChinese Culture
  • Instagram Fun withChinese Culture

Chinese Culture of Food -- Shan Dong / Confucian / Lu Cuisine

In Chinese culture of food, the Shan Dong (Lu) Cuisine is the most historical (more than 2,500 years old) and original series, which has not been influenced by other schools. 


They are the representatives of northern Chinese dishes, which were used to be a dominant cuisine for the royal families for the last 700 years in the history of China. 


Lu Cuisine is the most complicated series of Chinese food as well, which includes 91 cooking methods.


It also has very strict requirements on cooking materials, most of which are chosen from fresh local productions.


In addition, an important ingredient is the time consuming soup-stock, which usually take hours or days of stewing and filtering. 


Nowadays, most of northern Chinese follow the cooking methods of the Lu Cuisine. 


In the meanwhile, some of the most authentic and exquisite dishes are more served on high end occasions, because of the expensive materials, time-consuming and complicated cooking method.


Lu Cuisine also has set the basic etiquette of Chinese culture of food, which includes balance, refinement, and delicate.


It has strict requirements of decoration and regulation of dishes for each important occasion, like wedding or birthday.


The serving order, collocation of dishes, seating order and dress code are all detailedly set. 

Some Dishes of Shandong/Lu Cuisine